About Us

We provide online therapy to high achievers in New York.


We specialize in supporting high achievers facing a range of challenges such as:


You have questions. We have answers.

From the Blog

5 Stages of Grief in a Divorce

Professional Psychologist Sitting Back To Camera During Appointment With Unhappy Couple In Office.

Divorce stands as a deeply emotional and life-transforming experience, capable of inducing feelings of confusion and inundation. The disintegration of a marriage can activate a diverse array of emotional reactions, which may encompass sensations of sorrow, unease, and even melancholy. Within this article, we will delve into the impact of divorce on mental well-being, the 5 stages of grief in a divorce, and furnish invaluable perspectives to assist you in embracing recovery and rejuvenation during this challenging period.

How Divorce Affects Mental Health

For those going through this trying transition, understanding how divorce affects mental health is essential. This section will examine the various effects grieving divorce may have on people’s mental health and general wellbeing. 

  • Intense Grief and Loss: People frequently feel a profound sense of loss and grief when their marriage ends. In addition to the relationship, they might also lament their future aspirations and plans with their partner. Emotionally draining and possibly resulting in feelings of emptiness and despair, feelings of divorce can be difficult to handle. 
  • Emotional Struggles Following Divorce: The dissolution of a marriage often leads to a period of upheaval and unpredictability. This transition can trigger worries about financial stability, housing arrangements, and co-parenting responsibilities. The resulting anxiety, stemming from uncertainties, can disrupt focus on everyday tasks.
  • Impact on Self-Perception: After a marriage ends, some individuals may question their self-worth and value. They might internalize blame for the relationship’s breakdown or grapple with feelings of inadequacy. Divorce affects mental health negatively in damaging self-perception and self-worth.
  • Navigating Rejection and Desertion: Divorce can evoke emotions of rejection and abandonment, especially if one partner wasn’t the initiator. Individuals might confront sentiments of betrayal and doubt their capacity to give and receive affection.
  • Challenges of Isolation: The aftermath of divorce might lead to isolation, especially if mutual acquaintances align with one party. The sudden loss of companionship and support can cultivate emotions of loneliness and a sense of detachment from others.

5 Stages of Grief in a Divorce

The dissolution of a marriage often triggers a range of emotions, commonly referred to as the stages of grief in a divorce. Understanding these stages and learning how to cope with them can be essential for navigating the difficult path of divorce and feelings of divorce.

  1. Denial: The Initial Defense Mechanism
    • The initial phase of grieving after divorce is denial, a natural defense mechanism that enables people to shield themselves from strong emotions. During this stage, it might be challenging to accept that your marriage is ending. Denial frequently manifests as shock, doubt, and an unwillingness to accept the truth. Admitting that your marriage is over is the first step in getting better. In this stage of grief in divorce, talking to friends, family, or a mental health professional can provide much-needed support during this difficult stage.
  2. Anger: The Storm of Emotions
    • Following the fading of denial, the subsequent stage of grief during divorce involves encountering anger. This potent sentiment might be directed toward one’s former partner, oneself, or external factors that appear to have contributed to the marriage’s end. Anger can be intense and may manifest through outbursts, irritability, or resentment. Recognizing that anger is a legitimate emotion within the grieving process is important. Nonetheless, discovering constructive outlets for its expression is vital. Engaging in physical activities, seeking therapy, or embracing mindfulness techniques can aid individuals in navigating anger effectively and progressing forward in this difficult stage of grief in a divorce
  3. Bargaining: The “What Ifs” and Regrets
    • The stage of bargaining entails wrestling with notions of how the marriage could have been rescued through different actions. Individuals might become entangled in a maze of “what ifs” and “if onlys,” yearning to rewind time and restore their former life. Amid this stage of grief in a divorce, it becomes crucial to cultivate self-compassion and acknowledge the unalterable nature of the past. Enlisting the aid of a therapist or counselor can facilitate the processing of these emotions and the gradual release of regrets, enabling individuals to shift their focus toward the present and the days ahead.
  4. Depression: The Abyss of Sadness
    • The phase of depression stands as one of the most demanding periods within the stages of grief in a divorce. Feelings of profound sorrow, isolation, and despair might envelop individuals at this juncture. The allure of activities once cherished may wane, and finding happiness could become an arduous task. It’s vital to recognize that depression is an expected reaction to substantial loss. Reaching out for professional assistance from a mental health counselor can offer a comforting and unbiased environment to work through emotions and construct coping mechanisms. Therapy serves as an essential resource to guide individuals through the shadows and uncover fragments of hope.
  5. Acceptance: Embracing the New Beginning
    • The concluding stage of grief in a divorce is marked by acceptance. This is when individuals reconcile with the altered reality of their situation. Acceptance doesn’t involve erasing memories or forsaking the past, but rather recognizing that the marriage has concluded and it’s time to progress. Reaching acceptance is a transformative journey unique to each individual. Engaging in therapy can play a pivotal role in nurturing self-exploration, fostering personal development, and building resilience. With the guidance of a mental health expert, individuals can navigate this stage and envision a fresh chapter in their lives.

Overcome difficult feelings of divorce with a trusted NYC psychotherapist!

Divorce is undeniably a challenging experience that can trigger a range of emotions, commonly known as the stages of grief in divorce. Navigating through denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and ultimately reaching acceptance is a personal journey that requires patience, self-compassion, and support. Divorce affects mental health in many ways and Uncover Mental Health Counseling in New York City can help cope. Our team of NYC psychotherapists can help you navigate feelings of divorce. Follow these simple steps to get started:

  1. Contact us at Uncover Mental Health Counseling to schedule a complimentary consultation call.
  2. Meet with a New York psychotherapist for your first session.
  3. Start receiving the support you need to cope with stages of grief in a divorce.

Share via:


More From Our Blog