About Us

We provide online therapy to high achievers in New York.


We specialize in supporting high achievers facing a range of challenges such as:


You have questions. We have answers.

From the Blog

7 Stages of Denial in Personal Growth

The New Year often brings with it a sense of renewed hope, fresh beginnings, and the opportunity to make positive changes in our lives. We set resolutions, create goals, and strive to become the best versions of ourselves. But before we can truly grow and evolve, we must first navigate the complex terrain of denial. Denial and resisting change are natural parts of the personal growth journey, and understanding its seven stages can help us embrace change and transformation.

7 Stages of Denial in Personal Growth

Stage 1: Ignorance is Bliss

The first stage of the 7 stages of denial is “Ignorance is Bliss”. At the outset of our personal growth journey, it’s common to be blissfully unaware of the need for change. We find comfort in the routines and habits we’ve established so it’s natural to be resisting to change. It’s like being in a cozy cocoon where the outside world’s demands and the need for self-improvement remain invisible. Ignorance, in this context, is akin to a protective shield. It shelters us from the harsh reality of the areas in our lives that require growth and transformation. However, while it may feel safe and comfortable, this ignorance is also a significant barrier to growth. It prevents us from recognizing the potential for positive change and the opportunities that await beyond our comfort zones.

Stage 2: Shock and Denial

The second stage of the 7 stages of denial is “Shock and Denial”. As we begin to glimpse the need for change, it often comes as a shock to our system. We might notice certain aspects of our lives that are not aligned with our goals, values, or aspirations. This realization can be startling and even disorienting. The initial response to this revelation is often denial, a defense mechanism that attempts to reject or minimize the perceived problem. We tell ourselves that things aren’t as bad as they seem, and we resist the idea of facing the reality of our situation; we are resisting to change. This stage is marked by a strong fear of the unknown. We may fear the changes required to move forward, leading to a natural reluctance to embrace them.

Stage 3: Playing the Victim

The third stage of the 7 stages of denial is “Playing the Victim”. In this stage, we may find ourselves succumbing to self-pity and adopting the role of the victim. It becomes easy to shift the blame for our current situation onto external circumstances or other people. Playing the victim is a way to avoid confronting our own shortcomings, but it’s a form of resisting to change. It’s a way of avoiding personal responsibility for the choices we’ve made and their consequences. This stage is characterized by a sense of powerlessness, as we convince ourselves that the circumstances are beyond our control. It can be a paralyzing phase, where we relinquish agency and deny the possibility of effecting change through our actions.

Stage 4: Rationalization and Justification

The fourth stage of the 7 stages of denial is “Rationalization and Justification”. In this stage, we engage in an intellectual defense mechanism. We try to rationalize our past behaviors and justify our actions. We convince ourselves that our choices were reasonable, given the circumstances, and that we had no other option. This rationalization shields us from the harsh reality of our own shortcomings and decisions. It’s a way of preserving our self-esteem and avoiding feelings of guilt or shame; it’s another way of resisting to change. However, it can also prevent us from acknowledging the need for personal growth and change because it creates a false sense of satisfaction with the status quo.

Stage 5: Bargaining and Compromise

The fifth stage of the 7 stages of denial is “Bargaining and Compromise”. As we progress along our personal growth journey, we may reach a point where we try to strike a compromise between the denial of the earlier stages and full acceptance. We may bargain with ourselves, making small changes or setting conditional goals. This stage represents a transitional phase where we begin to acknowledge the need for change, but we are still resisting to change to a degree. Bargaining and compromise allow us to dip our toes into the waters of transformation, testing the idea of change while remaining somewhat attached to our old ways.

Stage 6: Acceptance and Accountability

True growth begins with acceptance. At this stage, we confront our denials and take full accountability for our actions. We recognize our flaws, limitations, and areas that need improvement. It’s a moment of profound self-awareness where we let go of the defense mechanisms that have been shielding us from reality. We accept that change is necessary and that we are the architects of our personal transformation. It’s a pivotal stage, as it empowers us to move forward with purpose and determination.

Stage 7: Embracing Change

The final stage of denial in personal growth is about embracing change with open arms. We let go of the past, shed the fear of the unknown, and eagerly embrace the opportunities for self-improvement. This is where transformation takes place, and we become the architects of our own destiny. Embracing change means not only accepting it but actively seeking it. It’s about stepping out of our comfort zones, confronting our fears, and moving forward with confidence and enthusiasm.

Navigating the stages of denial can be tough! We’re here to help.

As you navigate your personal growth journey, remember that understanding the various stages of denial is a crucial step in your self-evolution. At Uncover Mental Health Counseling in NYC, we provide the guidance and support you need to recognize and move through these stages. Let’s make this chapter in your life a time of self-discovery, positivity, and personal growth. Here’s how you can start:

  1. Reach out to Uncover Mental Health Counseling and schedule a complimentary 15-minute consultation call. We’re here to provide a listening ear, help you explore the stages of denial, and discuss how therapy can assist you in this transformative process.
  2. Meet with one of our experienced therapists in New York City to receive an initial assessment of your current journey, including the stages of denial you may be navigating.
  3. Begin therapy to delve into the stages of denial in personal growth, empowering you to move forward with greater self-awareness and resilience.

Share via:


More From Our Blog